Jockeys Tim Bell and Michael Cahill need only look at history to be reminded their battle for the Brisbane premiership could come down to the final race of the season.

Bell’s win on Mister Booze at Doomben on Saturday edged him past defending champion Cahill in the premiership race and he will go into the final meeting of the season on Wednesday leading 57-56.

The premiership battle has been the highlight of Brisbane racing in recent weeks and is reminiscent of the famous last day of the 1965-66 season.

Len Hill went into the day leading Skeeter Sanders by two wins and thought he had the premiership in his keeping when he rode a double.

But Sanders rode four of the last five winners to draw level and share the title.

It was the closest Brisbane title on record but it is rare for the jockeys premiership to be anything but a one-way street.

Since that famous battle 49 years ago there have been no more draws and only two titles have been decided by one win.

Both Bell and Cahill have six scheduled rides at Eagle Farm.

The metropolitan title wasn’t the only Queensland premiership to go down to the wire.

Jim Byrne rode the last winner at Ipswich on Friday to claim the coal city’s premiership with 24 wins, one in front of Cahill and Bell.

Skye Bogenhuber rode a treble to beat Brooke Stower by three for the Toowoomba title after they went into the Saturday night meeting locked at 26-1/2 each.

Travis Wolfgram easily won the Gold Coast title while Damian Browne was the leading jockey at the Sunshine Coast.

Story courtesy of

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s